And the Award for Best MMO Goes to??

The annual Golden Joystick Awards took place this past Friday (October 26th) in London. The award show, started in 1982, takes the opportunity to honor the best the gaming industry had to offer from the year previous. Millions of gamers voted, and the results have been calculated?

Attackers, the award that matters most, for Best MMO, went to none other than: World of Tanks! Runners up for the category included League of Legends and Star Wars: The Old Republic.

Developed by Russian developer, World of Tanks puts players in control of a mid-20th century tank. The 3D, free-to-play game emphasizes teamwork as players try to eliminate all of the opposing team?s armored vehicles. Customization and upgrades play a significant role in tailoring an experience that is unique to each user.

If you were on the fence about World of Tanks before (or hadn?t even heard of it), this award might be indication that the game would be well worth your time. After all, it is important to remember that the winning games weren?t decided upon by an uninformed panel of judges, but rather by ordinary gamers like you and I ? they?re the votes that matter, because we?re the ones who play.

A few other honorable mentions from the show include:

  • Ultimate Game of the Year: Skyrim
  • Best Download Game: Minecraft XBLA
  • Best DLC: Portal 2
  • Best Browser Game: Slender

To view the rest of the rest of the categories, head over to the Joystick Award?s website to see a full list of winners and runners up.

Did you watch the Joystick Awards? What?d you think?
How do you feel about World of Tanks taking home the award for Best MMO? Was it well deserved, or was there another game that should have won? Sound off below.

Leave a Comment