League of Legends

January 13, 2013 – League of Legends (LoL for short), is a 3D fantasy MOBA by Riot Games where players choose from one of many champions and fight it out in PvP battles against their enemies. Each individual ?game? or ?match? doesn?t take place in a persistent world, players earn experience points for winning matches, which can be used to permanently improve attributes in all future games. League of Legends is actually very similar to a popular Warcraft 3 mod called DotA (Defense of the Ancients).

Players take on the role of hero characters, leading an army to the enemy player?s base to destroy their fortifications and armies. It takes the RTS (Real-Time Strategy) genre and gives it more action.  During each game, players will have approximately 1 minute and 30 seconds to select a champion, two summoner spells, and some runes. League of Legends currently has well over 60 playable heroes, each of which are distinctly different. Each of the heroes has 4 unique skills, of which 1 is an ultimate, as well as a unique passive ability.

The heroes are actually incredibly balanced, and even the 8 beginner champions, which are fairly ?easy? to play, aren?t at all ?under powered? or anything like that. After playing a few matches with the recommended characters, players should try out other champions as well, because the best way to really master League of Legends is to learn every champion?s skills. Memorizing every champion?s skills may seem a bit nerve wracking at first, but you will get the hang of it, as just by playing the game regularly players will learn on their own what each hero is capable of. Of the game?s many playable heroes, most of them won?t be available to newbies, as they have to purchased in the game?s store with the ?influence points? earned from playing and winning matches.

The more matches a player wins in League of Legends ? the more experience their champion gains. Every level yields a single mastery point, which can then be spent in the ?masteries? tab. Masteries are passive enhancements which will enhance a champion?s attributes in every single game. The masteries work a lot like the ?talent? points in World of Warcraft and Runes of Magic, but they are ?account wide?, so it doesn?t matter which champion you select; you?ll always receive these bonuses. The three skill trees in the masteries tab are Offense, Defense and Utility.

League of Legends is popular in the eSports realm, becoming a major game in MLG (Major League Gaming) professional play.

Pros: Many characters to play, Good support, Flawless PvP.

Cons: None I can think of!

Winner of an MMO of the Year Award in 2013.

Leave a Comment